Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

News: yo mang check out my mixtape :rocky:

Author Topic: FAQ's about the stream and me.  (Read 869 times)

Draco

• Administrator
  • I WRITE THE JOKES
    • View Profile
    • Gatorbox
FAQ's about the stream and me.
« on: May 03, 2016, 10:51:35 pm »
I've been streaming since 2012 and in that time I've been asked a lot of questions, sometimes more than once by different people. *gasp!* Hopefully I can preempt a lot of needless new threads/posts by addressing some of the most common questions I get in this thread.

-------------------------------------------------------

Q) What is your streaming setup?
With the exception of HDMI consoles, since we predominately stream older stuff here, everything is plugged into a 16-way composite A/V switchbox. This box's output is then fed into an EliteVideo SD-11 distribution amplifier, which upscales the input to 720p and splits the output simultaneously into the stream's television as well as a Hauppauge HD-PVR2 capture device. At one point, the SD-11 also split audio-only output to surround sound speakers placed behind the cast, however these are currently no longer in use. For commentary, everything is picked up using a Blue Yeti snowglobe microphone.

Q) What's the story behind the name "Gatorbox"?
From 2012 - early 2013 this channel was operated by a parent media company under a different "Gator" name. They shelved the stream in 2013 due to financial problems, however myself and a couple of the other cast members wanted to keep going so we had to come up with a similar sounding name as to not lose what little audience we had at the time. I already owned the domain gator.co, so we settled on "Gatorbox" which is intended to translate to "alligator television".

Q) What's the story behind "COLA"?